ORTEGA mystic trees

Image
I like the trees at the mountain camp too. 
 the live oaks 
gracious givers of shade and acorns. 
in the grove beyond the camp, 

I couldn’t sleep for two nights
it’s hard to sleep in the mountain camp
it’s very cold and dusty
laid awake all night annoyed,
before the dawn,
wakefulness pulled aside the layers
I forgot how close to the inferno I am
it’s been covered over lightly
the starry vortex.
My god, I’m full of stars
a comet emerges and
passes invisibly behind my head
with a whooshing sound. 
Leave a Reply

