THE SINGING HILLS

ImageSouth of Big Sur, on the coast road
Driving though the green hills
I put some jazz on the player
A chorus of soft women’s voices rose
A gentle sax accompanies
It’s easy to imagine that
The velvet hills themselves are singing.
I drive alone on the California coast highway.
If I was not alone, would I hear the hills sing?
This is where the music’s kept
From Oxnard to Malibu.
I’ve heard the music of the ocean here before.
The invisible music
You must be still to hear.
There is a stony hill rising from the surf, 
Point Mugu rock
That is where the music is stored
In its rocky layers,
The secret music of the coast.
If I were not alone,
Would I hear the music?
If I were not alone, perhaps,
I would hear some different music.
 
the music referred o is Donald Byrd, Christo Redemptor
Leave a Reply

